Stardust

I have always been a little strange. Its best I start with that comment. That way, I can write off most of what I say to be part of that innate quirk.

Yesterday, a legend left the Earth. My generation, (i am twentythirteen years old) did not live through the glorious musical heyday of Mr David Bowie. We were raised with Labyrinth, he as the voice at the beginning of the Snowman by Raymond Briggs. We overheard his songs in cars and bars. We did not witness the pioneering iconic “olden days” where he made the amazing landscape changing moves. The godfather of androgyny and change. Bringing black artists to the forefront. In some ways he affected change in music and culture above any other in the field. I admired him incredibly.

He remains to me however, the knome king from Labyrinth. A film that both scared me shitless and entranced me as a child. Since the day I watched it as a child of 6, every night since, my weird little self has whispered.

You have no power over me

Every night, before I sleep. Just in case. A comfort carried from childhood. A little quirk. Last night was the first night I didn’t have to.

image

Give me the child. Through dangers untold and hardships unnumbered, I have fought my way here to the castle beyond the Goblin City to take back the child that you have stolen, for my will is as strong as yours, and my kingdom is as great. You have no power over me.

In the very fabric of my being. This will always be one of my favourite scenes. You will see its whispers in everything I do.

the Ballroom scene

So goodnight sweet goblin king. You sure did turn the world upside down. But you did it all for us.

Rip David Bowie

Leave a Reply

